ESN & Buddy-Programm

Become a mentor!

Buddy-ProgrammIn the Buddy Program of the University of Applied Sciences Technikum Wien

  • Are you interested in intercultural encounters during your studies?
  • Would you like to help students from abroad to get started in their everyday studies?
  • Do you like to make contacts in an international network?

The idea is simple: All guest students are assigned an experienced student, a so-called buddy. A buddy serves as the first point of contact and offers support with questions about everyday life and studies.

A buddy partnership brings advantages for all involved: The newcomers receive personal support when entering student life in a city that is foreign to them, while students at UAS Technikum Wien broaden their horizons and establish international contacts. Experience shows that a Buddy partnership is often the beginning of a long international friendship.

As a Buddy you will take on the following honorary tasks:

  • You are the contact person for our incoming students in all questions concerning student life in Vienna.
  • You have an open ear for the worries and needs of our incoming students.
  • You organize regular personal meetings during the semester with common activities (cinema, sports, culture, etc.).

 

Of course, you will also be invited by the International Office to the Welcome Event and Farewell Event of the Incoming Students.

Are you ready for an exciting semester with international fellow students? Once a semester you will receive a call for interested students. Or apply now for the coming semester here.

 

Your activity as a Buddy will be credited to the Intercultural Skills Certificate.

ESN TECHNIKUM WIEN - WHO WE ARE

ESN TECHNIKUM WIEN - WHO WE ARE

ESN Technikum Wien is a local organisational unit of the largest student organisation in Europe, the Erasmus Student Network (ESN). The aim of this network is to support exchange students during their stay in the sense of the vision ("enrichment of society through international students") and to build bridges for exchange students in order to integrate them more easily into everyday life and to provide them with a cultural understanding of Austrian society.

The ESN Technikum Wien section currently consists of 12 national and international students who are not only interested in intercultural exchange and travel, but who also like to represent Vienna as an educational location in Austria.

Most members of ESN have already completed a semester abroad themselves and are therefore aware of the challenges that exchange students in another country have to face, who also find a new everyday university life there.

ESN Technikum Wien is a part of ESN Vienna, an association of several ESN organisational units of six universities in Vienna, which together shape the process of internationalisation and network internationally.

 

WHAT WE DO

Welcome Weeks

The first few days are the most formative for incoming students, as they still have to find their way in the new environment. For this reason, ESN Technikum Wien organises the so-called "Welcome Weeks" at the beginning of each semester as part of the Orientation Week, which is organised by the UAS Technikum Wien.

During these two weeks the ESN Technikum Wien offers various activities such as a Welcome Day, a City Tour, a visit to the Vienna Prater and a Welcome Party.

Events

During the semester, the ESN Technikum Wien organizes various events for exchange students, such as museum visits, sports events, karaoke, pub quizzes, BBQs, parties, etc., in order to enable a broader variety of leisure activities for incoming students.

Field Trips

Austria plays an important cultural role in the history of Europe, which is why the ESN Technikum Wien also organises various field trips during the semester to familiarise incoming students with the most important places in the country. Examples are field trips to Hallstatt, Salzburg, Graz, Riegersburg, but also capital field trips to our neighbouring countries such as Prague, Budapest or Munich, which are a fixed part of every semester.

 

SHAPE IT?

Would you like to get in touch with international students? Then join ESN! At ESN you not only have the opportunity to make international friends, but also to improve your soft skills such as networking, communication, organization and time management. You will also have the opportunity to refresh your English skills. If we have aroused your interest, then simply contact ESN or visit one of ESN's events!

TIP: Your activities in the ESN Technikum Wien network can also be credited for the Intercultural Skills Certificate of the UAS Technikum Wien.

 

CONTACT

president

 

WEBSITE

You can find more information about ESN Technikum Wien on their homepage and on Facebook.

ESN & Buddy-Programm

Be a mentor – Buddy-Programm

Buddy-Programm
Werden Sie Mentor oder Mentorin! – Im Buddy-Programm der FH Technikum Wien

  • Sind Sie interessiert an interkulturellen Begegnungen im Rahmen Ihres Studiums?
  • Wollen Sie Studierenden aus dem Ausland beim Einstieg in den Studienalltag helfen?
  • Knüpfen Sie gerne Kontakte in einem internationalen Netzwerk?



Die Idee ist einfach: Alle Gaststudierenden erhalten erfahrene Studentin oder erfahrenen Studenten, so genannte Buddy, zur Seite gestellt. Der Buddy dient als erste Ansprechpartnerin oder erster Ansprechpartner und bietet Unterstützung bei Fragen rund um Alltag und Studium.

Eine Buddy-Partnerschaft bringt Vorteile für alle Beteiligten: Die Neuankömmlinge erhalten persönliche Unterstützung beim Einstieg in das Studierendenleben in einer für sie fremden Stadt, Studierende der FH Technikum Wien wiederum erweitern ihren Horizont und knüpfen internationale Kontakte. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass eine Buddy-Partnerschaft oft der Beginn einer langen internationalen Freundschaft ist.

Als Buddy übernehmen Sie folgende ehrenamtliche Aufgaben:

  • Sie sind Ansprechperson für unsere Incoming-Studierenden in allen Fragen rund um das Studentenleben in Wien
  • Sie haben ein offenes Ohr für Sorgen und Nöte unserer Incoming-Studierenden
  • Sie organisieren egelmäßige persönliche Treffen während des Semesters mit gemeinsamen Aktivitäten (Kino, Sport, Kultur etc.)


Selbstverständlich sind Sie dann auch zum Welcome-Event und Farewell-Event der Incoming-Studierenden seitens des International Office eingeladen.

Sind Sie berei für ein spannendes Semester mit internationalen Studienkolleginnen und -kollegen? Einmal im Semester erfolgt ein Aufruf an interessierte Studierende. Oder bewerben Sie sich gleich jetzt für das kommende Semester: Buddy-Anmeldung

 

Ihre Tätigkeit als Buddy wird Ihnen für das Intercultural Skills Certificate angerechnet.

 

ESN Technikum - Wer sind wir

ESN Technikum Wien ist eine lokale Organisationseinheit der größten Studentenorganisation Europas, dem Erasmus Student Network (ESN). Dieses hat zum Ziel, Austauschstudierende während ihres Aufenthaltes im Sinne der Vision ("enrichment of society through international students") zu unterstützen und Brücken für Austauschstudierende zu bauen, um sie leichter in den Alltag zu integrieren und ihnen ein kulturelles Verständnis für die österreichische Gesellschaft zu vermitteln.

Die Sektion ESN Technikum Wien besteht momentan aus 12 nationalen und internationalen Studierenden, die nicht nur Interesse an interkulturellem Austausch und Reisen haben, sondern auch Wien als Bildungsstandort Österreichs gerne nach außen repräsentieren.

Die meisten Mitglieder von ESN haben selbst bereits ein Auslandssemester absolviert und kennen somit die Herausforderungen, die auf Austauschstudierende in einem anderen Land zukommen, die zusätzlich einen neuen Hochschulalltag dort vorfinden.

ESN Technikum Wien ist ein Teil von ESN Vienna, einer Vereinigung mehrerer ESN Organisationseinheiten von sechs Hochschulen in Wien, die den Prozess der Internationalisierung zusammen gestalten und sich international vernetzen.

 

Was tun wir
 

Welcome Weeks

Die ersten Tage sind die prägendsten für Incoming-Studierende, da sie sich im neuen Umfeld noch zurechtfinden müssen. Aus dem Grund organisiert ESN Technikum Wien zu Beginn jedes Semesters im Rahmen der Orientation Week, die von der FH Technikum Wien organisiert wird, zwei Wochen lang die so genannten "Welcome Weeks", um Austauschstudierende sowohl untereinander, als auch mit den regulären Studierenden besser zu vernetzen.

Während dieser zwei Wochen bieten das ESN Technikum Wien verschiedene Aktivitäten an, wie beispielsweise einen Welcome Day, eine City Tour, einen Besuch im Wiener Prater und eine Welcome Party.

Events

Während des Semesters veranstaltet das ESN Technikum Wien [TO1] unterschiedliche Events für Austauschstudierende, wie zum Beispiel Museumsbesuche, Sportevents, Karaoke, Pub Quiz, BBQs, Partys uvm. um eine breitere Vielfalt an Freizeitaktivitäten für Incoming-Studierende zu ermöglichen.

Exkursionen

Österreich nimmt in der Geschichte Europas u. a. eine wichtige kulturelle Rolle ein, weshalb das ESN Technikum Wien auch verschiedene Exkursionen während des Semesters organisiert, um Incoming-Studierenden die wichtigsten Orte des Landes näher zu bringen. Beispiele sind Exkursionen nach Hallstatt, Salzburg, Graz, zur Riegersburg, aber auch in Städte unserer Nachbarländer wie Prag, Budapest oder München ein fixer Bestandteil eines jeden Semesters.

 

ESN mitgestalten?

Du möchtest den Kontakt zu internationalen Studierenden? Dann tritt ESN bei! Bei ESN hast Du nicht nur die Möglichkeit internationale Freundschaften zu schließen, sondern auch deine Soft Skills, wie z. B. Networking, Kommunikation, Organisations- und Zeitmanagement zu verbessern. Darüber hinaus hast Du die Möglichkeit deine Englischkenntnisse aufzufrischen. Wenn wir Dein Interesse geweckt haben, dann melde dich einfach bei ESN oder besuche eine der Veranstaltungen von ESN!

TIPP: Deine Tätigkeiten im ESN Technikum Wien Netzwerk kannst du dir auch für das Intercultural Skills Certificate der FH Technikum Wien anrechnen lassen.